Breakfast Club on Tour; Ruby’s Cafe

During our time in New York we used a few different apps to help us get around and discover things we wouldn’t have found without them. For figuring out the subway systems and how to get to A to B, Citymapper was a godsend, and for finding places to eat in all the different districts and neighborhoods, Dine was amazing.

You choose what area you’re in or want to eat in, what type of food you want to eat, and any special requests, and boom – Dine gives you a list of restaurants matching your criteria. It made deciding on places to eat much easier, especially if you’re unfamiliar with an area or fancy a certain type of meal. Through Dine we found Ruby’s Cafe in NoLita, a place that serves fresh and local produce with an Australian twist.

NoLita was such a cool neighborhood that I wish we saw more of, but the walk to Ruby’s from the subway station gave us a chance to take in all the street art, little boutiques and shops, and tiny dogs everyone was walking. One thing I love about being on holiday is watching all the locals go about their daily routines, such as going to work or popping to the shop, and getting a feel for what it would be like to live there.

When Jon and I arrived at Ruby’s Cafe it immediately felt very “us.” With it’s neat and minimal open front, and clean wooden tables, Ruby’s is a relaxing place to enjoy any meal. Plus they had a playlist that consisted of Beyoncé and Rihanna, which is an excellent sign.

We where seated by quite possibly one of the coolest waitresses ever, ordered our drinks. Jon opted for a latte ($4) and I went all out and ordered a Mimosa ($7), which is an NYC version of a Buck’s Fizz. I felt very Carrie Bradshaw as I sipped my breakfast cocktail and looked over the menu. We both opted for the pancakes ($11) and enjoyed our drinks as we waited for our food.

The pancakes where fabulous. Made with caramelized apples and pears, it felt like a healthier take on a usually indulgent breakfast. The cinnamon butter and salted maple syrup topped it off. It might have been the atmosphere (or the Mimosa), but I felt like a real New Yorker for a few moments as we sat in Ruby’s. On holiday I really try to avoid big tourist traps or chain places, and eat where locals eat. We planned out a lot of the places we ate at but finding Ruby’s was a really cool surprise and somewhere I would recommend if you’re visiting the Big Apple. If I lived in NoLita (which I really wish I did), I would definitely be a regular at Ruby’s.

Ruby’s Cafe have a website that can be found here and are on Instagram.

DW

This is my third review in my New York breakfast posts. You can find the other reviews here

Ruby's Cafe (3)

 

Ruby's Cafe (1)

One thought on “Breakfast Club on Tour; Ruby’s Cafe

  1. whatadifferenceawordmakes says:

    I never knew a Mimosa was like an American Buck’s Fizz! Ruby’s looks amazing. I don’t think I’ve ever been anywhere with an Australian twist before, that’s such a good idea! New York looks super tasty from all your reviews. I’m hungry and jealous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

